Leave a comment

Emmy Fever

The 2012 Emmy Awards Red Carpet was sparkling last night with an array of shimmering, twinkling gowns.  For me, the glittering dresses stole the show in the style stakes, followed closely by the girls in various shades of blue. My absolute favourites however, went for both.  Here’s a few of my faves, and a couple who I feel missed the mark!

Loving…

Nicole Kidman

Nicole looked as sleek and impeccable as always in this Antonio Berardi embellished column dress. The statuesque actress described the dress as ‘comfortable,’ and complimented it perfectly with Fred Leighton jewellery.

 

Sofia Vergara

The sexy Latina was one of my absolute favourites in this sequinned, mermaid-esque teal dress by Zuhair Murad. Despite the dress splitting and revealing her fabulous bum (pic of said bum malfunction can be found on her Twitter page), the dress perfectly accentuated her amazing curves, and I can’t fault her choice of accessories.

 

Julianne Hough

Julianne looked stunning in another mermaid inspired gown in an aqua hue by Georges Hobeika. I really love the velvet petal detailing as it sweeps down to the floor. The look has a modern, fresh feel with a touch of Old Hollywood glamour, and her chunky earrings, white clutch and side-swept up-do complete the outfit perfectly.

 

Kerry Washington

 

The actress was a shimmering delight in Vivienne Westwood. She is always one to watch on the red carpet, and she didn’t disappoint this time – the gown worked perfectly with her skin tone, and she was right to keep the accessories simple and let the dress take all the focus.

 

Ginnifer Goodwin

 

Ginnifer channelled her inner vintage goddess in this exquisite Monique L’Huillier embroidered gown. She teamed the dress with matching Christian Louboutins and understated accessories. Monique L’huillier is gaining in red carpet popularity, and it’s not hard to see why – this dress looks comfortable and effortlessly stylish.

Snubbing…

Claire Danes

I’m a big Homeland fan and am really pleased that she scooped an award, but I doubt she’ll getting any accolades for this boring, unflattering yellow Lanvin dress. She said she picked it because it was ‘easy’, and I know it must be hard to pick something fabulous when you have to dress a baby bump, but it can’t be that difficult to not make it look like a giant lemon. Sorry Claire!

Lena Dunham

I sort of get the basic thinking behind picking this dress. On paper, it’s very feminine, young, lace dresses can look very classy…but this Prada creation is just a frumpy monstrosity on her. She looks obese, which she definitely is not. An absolute fail in my eyes.

 

Heidi Klum

You might think me saying I’m not sure about this outfit is down to jealousy…and maybe you’d be right. However, even though I think she looks absolutely uh-MAZING, her body is pure perfection as we already know, (and who doesn’t want to show off how incredible they look after a break-up?) I’m just not sure it’s appropriate for the event. Call me a prude, but I’ve never been overly keen on too much skin on the red carpet.

 

Do you agree? Let me know…

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

