Leave a comment

Fashionista Of The Day: Janelle Monae

I was a bit reluctant to choose Janelle as my FOTD so soon after doing a piece on Marlene Dietrich’s androgynous yet feminine style, but every Fashionista is different, and the fact that Janelle’s style is a modern interpretation makes it a completely different ball game in my eyes. And anyway, when you look this amazing does it really matter?

Janelle is an R&B and soul singer from America, and she loves her a tuxedo. I’ve seen a fair bit of criticism about her ‘monotonous’ look, but I don’t agree. The wonderful thing about fashion is it can be whatever you want it to be, and that includes maintaining a signature style. Janelle says she views the tuxedos as a sort of uniform and always wears one when she’s working. She states that ‘A tux is such a standard uniform, it’s so classy and it’s a lifestyle I enjoy. The tux keeps me balanced. I look at myself as a canvas. I don’t want to cloud myself with too many colors or I’ll go crazy.’ I think this is a really interesting point about the role fashion plays in our lifestyles, and the effect it has on how we feel about ourselves.

Yes it’s samey, but it’s just such a polished, well-groomed look.  I mean it’s not like she’s wearing the same one, every outfit has a unique, ultra-cool twist. She obviously just adores the way they make her feel, and I really applaud that dedication to such a sharp, dapper appearance all the time. I think we can all agree she’s not just chucking anything on. Her gorgeous pompadour hairstyle looks like it takes some effort as well. Maybe she will please her critics one day with a more diverse wardrobe, (after all, we all undergo a style evolution at some point) but for now, Long Live The Tuxedo!

 

 

Yves Saint Laurent did a lot to bring tuxedos into the arena of women’s fashion.

 

Emilio Pucci A/W ’12-’13, seen at Milan Fashion Week

Miranda Kerr modelling for David Jones

A pregnant Beyonce performing in a sparkly tuxedo at the VMAs

Blake Lively on the July Issue off Marie Claire looking AMAZING in a scarlet tux dress

Leave a Reply

